SAC: Ankli Leads Hagerty, Anderson Guides Greyhounds

(Photo by Eric D. Dunlap)

Meet Summary

Lake Mary hosted the 2011 Seminole Athletic Conference Championship. The varsity races looked like they would be close in the beginning but in the end it was a pair of seniors coming away with the win.

In the girls varsity race Hagerty senior Amy Ankli took it out strong and never looked back.  Ankli wins in 19:27.60. Lake Howell's Regan Farrow comes in second nearly thirty seconds behind her in 19:56.40. The Huskies led by Ankli place five runners in the top ten to win the team trophy with 29 points and a 20:16.35 average.

On the boys side Oviedo junior Justin Schanze led the group from the football field into the park, but after that it was a three man race. Otniel Teixeira, Peter Licari, and Brian Anderson were stride for stride at the mile and a half mark. Anderson, a senior at Lyman opened up with 900 meters to go to win his first 5K EVER.  If you want to talk about peaking at the right time it doesn't get much better than that. His time of 16:02.52 was a six second personal best. Teixeira finishes in second and Licari comes in third. Anderson and the Greyhounds take home the team title with the top five guys in the top sixteen. Their score of 39 points was  22 points better than runner-up Lake Brantley.

Third Party Coverage

Article from Orlando Sentinel