New Regions Announced for Middle School State Series



In the past six years the middle school state championship series has grown in legitimacy and partipation. Three years ago we went from being an open state championship meet to having regional qualifiers around the state. We had two main reasons for doing this: 1) to create the atmosphere of priveledge and recognition of hard work for those athletes qualifying to compete at the state meet 2) to increase visibilty, interest, and participation at the local level. The regional qualifiers have gotten more kids involved and given them more opportunities to compete--and enabled them to qualify in their own backyard, rather than half way across the state.

In continuing that vision, we have decided this year to further localize the regional qualifiers by inceasing the number of qualifying meets from 5 to 8. As a result, we did have to redraw the map a bit, but the changes should have minimal effect on the partipcation numbers of existing regions (based on geography and past participation). The result should actually be the opposite--increased numbers for everyone.

Note: We are missing hosts for two regions. If none are found, the Southwest will compete in the South,and the West will compete in the Central.

Panhandle Region

April 19, 2008 @ Maclay School, Tallahassee

Region includes the entire panhandle and part of the big bend area including Pensacola, Ft. Walton Beach, Panama City, and Tallahassee.

North Region

April 19, 2008 @ Episcopal School, Jacksonville

Region includes the areas of Jacksonville, St. Augustine, Palm Coast, Gainesville, and Lake City.

Nature Coast Region

April 19 @ Lecanto High School, Lecanto

Region includes the areas of Brooksville, Lecanto, Inverness, Cedar Key, and Ocala.

West Region

April 12 @ Jefferson High School, Tampa

Region includes metro Tampa Bay area including Tampa, St. Pete, Clearwater, Sarasota, New Port Richey, Bradenton, Wauchula, and Dade City.

Central Region

April 26, 2008 @ National Training Center, Clermont

Region includes metro Orlando area including Orlando, Clermont, Sanford, Kissimmee, and Lakeland.

East Region

TBA @ Holy Trinity School, Melbourne

Region includes Daytona Beach, Titusville, Melbourne, Vero Beach, Ft. Pierce, Okeechobee, Stuart, and Jupiter.

Southwest Region

TBA - Need host for this region.

Region includes Ft. Myers, Naples, Port Charlotte, Arcadia, Sebring, Clewiston, Immokalee, and Punta Gorda.

South Region

April 19, 2008 @ Belen Jesuit School, Miami

Region includes Miami-Dade metro area, Ft. Lauderdale, West Palm Beach, and the Florida Keys.