FLYRA Middle School State Championship 2016

Lakeland, FL


Final Middle School Rankings: Who's #1 Overall & By Grade Nov 22, 2016

The FLYRA Middle School State Championship is right around the corner as athletes will take to the Holloway Park Course at the end of the month. Which athletes have the best shot at the state title? We take a look at the middle school rankings for both 3k and 2 miles.

WATCH: Ani Veltcheva's 10:38.67 3k Breaks FLYRA MS State Championship Record , ALL Videos Oct 30, 2016

Abraham Lincoln Middle School 7th grader Ani Veltcheva set the FLYRA Middle School State Championship meet record with a 3k time of 10:38.67. Veltcheva adds the middle school state title to a long list of national and world age group records and championships. Adrian Bichara won the boys race while Tavares Middle School and Emerald Coast Middle School took home the boys and girls team trophies. All race videos and interviews.

FLYRA MS State Championship Featured Photo Album: Pure Emotion From Future Stars Oct 30, 2016

There is something to be said for the pure emotion of sport. You can see it on the kid's faces and in their actions on the course. Jeff Adams was on-site at the FLYRA Middle School State Championship at Holloway Park and snapped over 1,750 photos including this one from the finish of the boy's open race. The looks on these runners' faces just bleeds passion.

FLYRA Middle School State Championship Preview Oct 28, 2016

This Saturday will be the seventh running of the FLYRA Middle School State XC Championship, and the fifth on the increasingly-beautiful Holloway Park course. The impact of the FLYRA State Championship series on the high school cross country scene over the last five years is powerful and undeniable. The list of previous medalists at this race reads like a who's-who of Florida high school XC runners; Kurt Convey, Brandon Marquez, Tsion Yared and Rafaella Gibbons are just a sampling of the accomplished past champions. And the top eighth-graders on Saturday will not just be varsity high school runners next year - they'll be All-County, All-District and, for some of them, All-State. Here's a look at who we might see on the podium.