Spanish River Invitational Makes History With Two-Day Meet

With 10 races over two days, the 36th Annual Spanish River Invitational was one of the largest meets in South Florida history.


Friday was kicked off with the small school JV and Varsity races along with a middle school race.

Drew Franta, a senior out of Westminster Academy, won the small school JV girls race in a time of 25:04 while Nick Barron, a senior out of University School of NSU won the small school JV boys race in a time of 20:04.

Joseph Anderton took the small school varsity boys win in a time of 16:33. The South Florida Heat junior ran nearly a PR. Thomas Rodriguez followed close behind Anderton for runner-up in the small school division. In a time of 16:41, the Archbishop McCarthy senior, took nearly 36 seconds off his time from last week.

Eleanor Tymorek ran a PR of 18:51 to get the win for the small school varsity girls. The Saint Andrews sophomore knocked close to minute off her time from last week's Kings Academy Invitational. Tymorek was followed behind Gulliver Prep junior, Natalie Varela (19:03), and The King's Academy freshman, Mia Rodriguez (19:32).

Small School Varsity Team Champions: 
The young runners came out to compete at the Spanish River Invitational. Ryan Sarafoglu took the overall win for the mixed middle school race. The Miami Elite Track Club eighth grader ran a time of 10:52. Sarafoglu was followed by seventh grader, Danny Garcia (11:33).

Olivia Rodriguez was the first middle school girl to cross the finish line in a time of 12:30 with Gabby Frei following close behind in a time of 12:41.


Saturday was the large school show with large school JV and Varsity races along with a Freshman race.

It was a sea of navy and gold in the large school JV boys race. Belen Jesuit took the top 16 in the JV race. With John Lee leading the pack (17:35), the Belen boys had 16 athletes sub 19:20 on their JV squad.

Lourdes Academy swept the JV girls race with five girls sub 25. Gabriela Garcia-Linares led the squad with her 22:55 win. She was followed closely by her teammates: Milana Tirse, Daniella Arana, Johanna Dies, and Emma Granda.

Adam Magoulas won the overall large school varsity boys race with a PR of 15:47. Magoulas and Aidan Breslin out of St. Thomas Aquinas (15:53) went out together and battled it out head to head.

Michael Fiore finished third with a time of 16:14. The Fort Lauderdale sophomore PR'd by nearly 38 seconds!

Valerie Lastra took it out fast from the gun and held a strong lead throughout the large school varsity girls race. As she sprinted towards the finish line you could see determination as the clock went from 17:56, 57, 58, 59.

Lastra took home the overall win in a time of 18:00.14 -- a PR of .5 seconds and a course record for South County Regional Park. She holds the fastest time in the state at the moment.

Lastra was followed behind Rylee Pustilnik (18:34) and Pia Beaulieu (18:53) for the top three girls in the large school race and the only three under 19 minutes.

Large School Varsity Champions: 
Reed Cunningham won the Freshman boys race in a time of 18:16. The Naples HS freshman was followed by Justin Spleha, out of Spanish River (18:29), and Tomas Duque, out of Belen Jesuit (18:55) for the top three freshman boys.

More Coverage: